General Upgrade & Downgrade Guidelines:
Have a look into our Membership Guidelines here for detailed information.
For quick instructions, read below:
- A new Membership Package will only ever come into effect on the 1st day of the upcoming month. While it is possible to request the change any time, your newly requested Membership Package will not become effective until the next month.
- A request can be made up until 12:00 pm (midday) on the last day of the month, except for Student Memberships, which must be requested seven (7) days before the end of the month.
- Upgrade: You can request to upgrade your Membership Package to one of the higher-offering packages at any time, even during your initial Three (3) Full Month Minimum Commitment Period.
- Downgrade: The first downgrade to one of the limited-offering packages can be requested only after you have completed your initial Three Month Minimum Commitment Period. Thereafter, you have the freedom to downgrade your Membership Package in accordance with our ‘Downgrade Rule’, which states that you must have been on the higher package for at least three consecutive months. If you have not been on the higher package for the 3 months preceding the desired downgrade, you will not be allowed to downgrade. Please note that the Downgrade Rule does not apply to the Student Membership, and you are welcome to change to a Student Membership at any time as long as the necessary Proof of Enrolment documentation is submitted in a timely manner. Please see the Student Membership section for more information, and the FAQs for examples of the Downgrade Rule.
- Cancel Request: In case you need to reconsider your package change before it comes into effect, you can always abort the change by clicking the 'Cancel pending request' button as shown on the screenshot below and selecting the desired package afterwards again.
In order to request to change your Membership Package, active steps will be required on your behalf via the self-service portal within our Factory Berlin Members Platform under 'Manage Membership'.
To access the Manage Membership section, please log in to the Factory Berlin Members Platform. In the upper right corner, you’ll find your profile picture. By clicking on it, a small drop-down menu will appear, and you will see ‘Manage Membership’.
In general, the Manage Membership area is the place where you can:
- Change your Login Data (i.e. Email and Password)
- Update your Payment Details
- Manage your Membership Packages
- Download your Monthly Invoices
- Add your Company Details for our Postal Service
- Cancel your Membership
By selecting ‘Membership Packages’, the simple overview of the packages will appear. Currently, Factory Berlin offers:
Immediately in the overview, you will be able to see what current plan you are subscribed to (‘Active’). If you would like to change your Membership Package, simply click on the ‘Select’ button under the chosen package. An additional window will appear where you will be asked to confirm that you are aware of the fee and features of the new package. By continuing, you also confirm that you remain agreeable to our Terms & Conditions.
In the case of a successful change, a confirmation message will appear at the top of your screen, together with the date that your new Membership Package will come into effect (generally on the 1st day of the following month). A request can be made up until 12:00 pm (midday) on the last day of the month, except for Student Memberships, which must be requested seven (7) days before the end of the month.
In case you are not eligible to change your Membership Package on the 1st day of the upcoming month, the change will be processed but only for the first eligible date in the future. This will only occur in two circumstances: if you are still within your initial Minimum Three Month Commitment Period, or if the Downgrade Rules applies.
In case you change your mind or the eligible date doesn’t suit you, the request can be undone anytime before the new Membership Package is due to come into effect, by simply clicking the “Cancel Change” button.
From Nomad to Hold:
Please note that when you change your membership package from Nomad to Hold, any days you've accumulated will be reset to zero (0) when you downgrade to a Hold Membership.
If you are struggling to sign-up to the Members Platform, and the Reset Password button does not work - this is most commonly due to the fact that you never activated your Members Profile. If you cannot find your personal signup code in your previous emails from us, please email us at email@example.com, and we’ll look into it. You have to be registered in our new payment system to be able to see the ‘Membership Packages’ area. If you were emailed during December 2018 to input your payment details into the new system, and you haven’t done so yet - this is a step required to be able to change your Membership Package.